Signing Ceremony in Houston

The signing ceremony took place in Houston on May 3, 1995, between the following cities: Aberdeen, Houston, Perth, Stavanger and Vung Tau. The City of Calgary attended the ceremony as an observer.

Mayor Leif Maasvaer of Stavanger was elected President and Trygve Brekke (Stavanger) Secretary General. Knut Bulow (Houston) joined the secretariat as a consultant. The membership fee was set to  $10,000 USD per year.

In September 1995, Leif Johan Sevland was elected as mayor in Stavanger and therefore assumed the role of President of the WECP.